Chives

I live in an apartment that doesn’t even have a balcony, so I can say that, as a photographer, I am very grateful to friends who let me take photos of (and hang out in) their gardens.

These lovely chives were blooming in the garden of my friends J. and I.

I had just bought a new lens (85mm f/1.8, for the technically inclined), and I tested it out on their flowers. I think it has almost become my new favourite lens. (It will always be tied with the telephoto I use for wildlife. Always.) It gives such a beautiful crisp image with such a soft background that I have gotten in the habit of tossing it into my bag even when I’m going out in search of tiny birds or vast landscapes – there’s always something that I can take a picture of with that particular lens.

Chives are a kind of allium – a member of the onion family. They have long, narrow,  dark green leaves that set off the pale purple flowers beautifully. They can be used as a herb, but with a light hand – they are very sharp and pungent!

This entry was published on June 29, 2015 at 5:36 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

