Trumpeter Swan – Juvenile

Back in the summer, I saw a Trumpeter Swan and her cygnets swimming in one of the pools at the Leslie Street Spit:
https://eabeattiephoto.wordpress.com/2014/06/10/trumpeter-swan-and-cygnets/

On my most recent visit to the Spit, I had a chance to see them again. There were about a dozen Trumpeter Swans out at the far end. The cygnets have reached full size, but still have a bit of their dark plumage. Trumpeter Swans are one of the largest birds in North America, and having seen them close up I can tell you that they are enormous!

Some of them were quite shy, but one or two turned out to be moochers – they swam right up to me and circled around for several minutes, clearly putting a show in hopes of getting a handout. This particular fellow made a point of showing me how handsome his wings were. When it became clear that I had no sandwiches to share, they swam away making little honking noises. (Like this: http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/trumpeter_swan/id)

It always makes me happy to meet again with creatures I know I have seen before, and to see that they are doing well.

This entry was published on January 26, 2015 at 6:48 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

