Lake Ontario – Winter Abstract

I went down to the Leslie Street Spit this past weekend. There have been reports of Snowy Owls there, and the weather was bearable, so I decided to brave the cold and see what I could see.

I did not see any Snowy Owls. In fact, I hardly saw any wildlife at all, except for some winter ducks, a hawk, and a mockingbird (which mocked me, of course). However, the Leslie Street Spit – more properly known these days as Tommy Thompson Park – is a very fine place to go for a walk, beautiful in bleak way on an overcast day in winter.

Landscape photography has not been one of my strengths in the past, but I am working on it. In this case, after taking pictures of various points and prominences I was drawn to the strange intersection of water and sky at the horizon. After trying various arrangements without much success I decided to try stripping out any element of the composition that was not absolutely essential, and the result is what I was left with – which is less than I expected. Of all the photos I took on that walk this one is the strangest and most experimental, and I think one of my favourites.

This entry was published on January 28, 2014 at 6:35 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

