Blue Cornflower (Chicory)

It’s been a few days since I posted. Despite my best intentions, I was hamstrung by software troubles that prevented me from devoting as much attention to this as it deserves.

The software troubles are ongoing, but I thought I would toss this out just to keep myself in the habit.

Blue cornflower, also known as chicory, is one of my favourite flowers. You can’t pick it, though, because it wilts almost immediately. In a way, I like it because of that – you can only enjoy it where it is; you can’t save it for later.

The shade of blue is extraordinary. Often I find that my photos of it come out almost white, and I have to put a lot of effort into getting the blue back into the image. I’m sure there’s some optical trick behind it, but it remains a mystery to me. I found this one in the Humber Valley, just a few weeks ago.

This entry was published on November 6, 2013 at 9:50 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

